RSS

Owning a hair salon The challenges!

17 Nov

Back2myroots : A place to share thoughts and grow idea’s. B2MR

Your having a great start to your day! Then two stylists come in ask for a word!

They give you their notice they are setting up a business across town! 

You own a busy and successful salon you employ a number of good talented creative staff. You provide trainees and assistants to work and support you team. You feel that you are fair to your staff and business is good, everything is going along smoothly. Clients are loyal so retention is good.

The salon seems to have a reputation for both service and standards of work.

Then one morning everything changes! Your two busiest stylists come in and tell you that they are leaving to open a salon on their own. They offer you two weeks notice tell you it’s nothing personal but they both feel they need a new challenge and that they feel that they have done and experienced about as much as possible in this present arrangement!

Off the bat you are shocked. You are devastated quite rightly. But how do you now cope with this?

Anger fear resentment panic! Followed by how will the salon cope what about their clients! Thoughts like why did they not come to me. I don’t deserve this why me!

Has this ever happened to you? If not chances are it will. If it has then I’m touching a cord I’m sure.

Why do I choose this as a subject because it’s one not touched on best left alone.

The fact is it’s natural progression it will happen have I done it to owner /business partners yes! Has it happened to me? Yes it has! I write to share experience and open discussion.

 At the time of me leaving a business I was involved in I feel I was fully justified in getting out. I was a minority and the two guys I was in business were taking advantage of my work ethic and looking after their best interest .So I did the same. Looked after No 1.

Having been let down myself was harder and I did not see it coming. On reflection I should have I allowed business and pleasure or employment and social life to mix too much.  The out come was being let down and left in a very difficult situation.

On reflection and from experience these situations are like any break up stressful and best way to deal with it is to attribute blame. What we really need to do is look at the big picture. The build up of said events. The circumstances running up to this situation we find our selves in.

When we do this and only when we do this. Can we really understand what has transpired culminating in this business disaster, how we handle is really the key to moving on and having closure.

After the initial shock how would you handle it? What would you do? Damage control? Ask said stylist to leave immediately employment terminated? Get the receptionist on the phone to all there clients. Call emergency staff meeting to rally the troops a lecture on loyalty to follow!

 Sound familiar? I advise take the high ground. Take your time to think it through. Some times inaction is much better than rash decisions and choices made in the heat of the moment. The leaving stylist will expect you to ask them to leave. They will already have full client contact information. In most case the key clients are all ready aware of this .In some case they might be caking it and or supporting it.  I’m not saying suck it up I am suggesting it’s how you deal with it and how you move forward that will define both you and your business.

Believe it or not this could be a huge opportunity to learn and grow and develop a whole new way forward for you your team and future employment.

So take a deep breath stay focused think the process through with an honest open mind. Reflect on your role and contribution to this for we all paly a part we all contribute to the circumstances leading up to this. Are you big enough?

I could write my thoughts on a resolution or out come but that’s; different for us all. I would love to hear some feed back on this.

Points to think about and understand.

Stylists making these choices, it’s not personal.

In building and developing a team create opportunity and incentives.

Do not play the blame game be professional when dealing with these situations.

Keep lines of communication open.

Learn and grow from the experience.

Focus on vision and goal for moving forward.

Do not create ill feeling about those stylists starting new venture. Wish them well

Keep all doors open.

[you may well gain more respect from clients who may come back] you will always be respected for being and staying professional.

Mike B2MR

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
